The Asterix
Phenomenon

First appeared: 29 October 1959 in Pilote magazine

1st comic book: Asterix the Gaul in 1961: 6,000 copies

365,000,000 comic books sold worldwide: 8,880 Eiffel Towers stacked on top of each other.

Placed end to end, the books would stretch twice around the Earth, and would weigh 12,900 tonnes (i.e. 400 lorries weighing 35 tonnes each.)

35 comic books

111 translations (languages and dialects)

9 animated films

4 live action films

1 theme park: “Le Parc Astérix”

100 licenses

Asterix’s story

It all began in 1959, when we were on the balcony of Albert Uderzo's council flat in Bobigny. There were only three months until the trial edition of Pilote was due out, and the two authors René Goscinny and Albert Uderzo were really under pressure: they had to create a completely original comic strip series based on French culture. They browsed through the history of France to find inspiration to create their heroes. And suddenly, the pair of them exploded with laughter: Eureka! They decided on the period of the Gauls. This is how Asterix came to make his first appearance on 29 October 1959 in Pilote magazine. This comic strip series was soon to have a cult following: The Adventures of Asterix the Gaul.

René Goscinny remembers:
"We were at Uderzo's flat one afternoon, looking for an idea that was both funny and unusual. It didn't take long for both Uderzo and I to agree: we would choose the history of the Gauls as our theme, a period which had been strangely overlooked in France and seemed to be a subject with plenty of possibilities! Taking our inspiration from the name of Vercingetorix which we remembered from our first history lessons at school, we named our characters Asterix, Obelix, Getafix and other names ending with 'ix'. Our Romans would have names ending in 'us', such as 'Poisonus Fungus'. Their towns would have names ending in 'um', such as Totorum, Aquarium, Compendium."

More than 56 years after the birth of Asterix, the success story marches on: "I haven't a clue why it works so well, it's beyond us, but I will never be able to thank our loyal Asterix readers enough. I'm full of gratitude and I owe them so much!" says Albert Uderzo.

The magic potion of René Goscinny and Albert Uderzo includes: a good dose of humour, a dash of humility, exceptional character, intelligent narration, a stroke of genius, plenty of friendship, strong drive, a sense of camaraderie and the enormous combined talent of these two creators, gifted with a precise sense of observation, as well as that of mockery.

Premiers croquis des Gaulois

Les croquis d’Albert tel qu’il voyait le gaulois

Le gaulois tel que le voyait René

Astérix et Obélix aujourd'hui

Le phénomène
Astérix

1ère parution : 29 octobre 1959 dans le magazine Pilote

1er album : Astérix le Gaulois en 1961 = 6000 ex

365 000 000 d’albums vendus dans le monde, soit empilés : 8880 Tour Eiffel

Mis bout à bout, les albums font 2 fois le tour de la Terre et pèsent entassés : 12 900 tonnes (soit 400 camions de 35 tonnes chacun)

35 albums

111 traductions (langues et dialectes)

9 films d'animation

4 films live

1 parc d'attraction : le Parc Astérix

100 licences

L'histoire d'Astérix

Tout commence en 1959, nous sommes sur le balcon d’un HLM à Bobigny chez Albert Uderzo. Il ne reste plus que trois mois avant la sortie du numéro zéro de Pilote, les 2 auteurs René Goscinny et Albert Uderzo sont sous pression. Ils doivent créer une série BD issue de la culture française qui soit totalement originale. Pour créer leurs héros, ils passent en revue l’Histoire de France. Et soudain, entre deux fous-rires : Eurêka ! Ils s’arrêtent sur la période des Gaulois. C’est ainsi qu’Astérix fait sa première apparition le 29 octobre 1959 dans le magazine Pilote. Bientôt cette série BD deviendra culte: Les Aventures d'Astérix le Gaulois.

René Goscinny raconte:
« Nous nous sommes donc réunis un après-midi chez Uderzo et nous avons cherché une idée que nous souhaitions drôle et originale. Très rapidement, nous sommes tombés d’accord, Uderzo et moi: nous choisirions comme thème de notre histoire les Gaulois, ces gaulois qui, assez curieusement, étaient un peu oubliés en France et nous semblaient être un sujet plein de possibilités! Nous inspirant du nom de Vercingetorix, souvenir des premières leçons d’Histoire de notre enfance, nous baptisons aussitôt nos personnages: Astérix, Obélix, Panoramix, et autres « ix ». Nos romains auront des noms en « us », comme par exemple: « Encorutilfaluquejelesus ». Leurs villes, des noms se terminant en « um »: Babaorum, Aquarium, Petibonum »

Plus de 56 ans après… le succès perdure. « Je ne sais pas pourquoi cela marche comme ça. Cela nous dépasse, je ne remercierai jamais assez les fidèles lecteurs d'Astérix, ils ont toutes ma gratitude et reconnaissance !  » dit Albert Uderzo.

La potion magique de René Goscinny et Albert Uderzo : Une bonne dose d’humour, une pincée d’humilité, un trait exceptionnel, une intelligence de la narration, un zeste de génie, beaucoup d’amitié, une farouche volonté, une franche camaraderie et l’énorme talent conjugué de deux grands créateurs doués d’un sens aigu de l’observation… Et de la dérision…

Premiers croquis des Gaulois

Les croquis d’Albert tel qu’il voyait le gaulois

Le gaulois tel que le voyait René

Astérix et Obélix aujourd'hui