The creators
of Asterix

René Goscinny

Born on 14 August 1926 in Paris, as the son of a Polish father and a Ukrainian mother.

He spent his childhood in Argentina, where he discovered literature and comic books early.

In 1945, He became an assistant illustrator with an advertising agency in France, before an invitation from an uncle led him to leave for New York.

After his French military service, he crossed the Atlantic, where he met the team behind MAD Magazine (Willy Elder, Harvey Kurtzman and John Severin) and worked as an illustrator for the comedy publication. It was also there that he met Morris, who he would go on to work with on Lucky Luke starting in 1955.

In 1950, René moved to Brussels and began working with Jean-Michel Charlier for the press agency, World Press. That year, he was to produce and illustrate his 1st comic book: Dick Dicks.

The 1950s were a rich period full of collaboration with different illustrators who helped set his genius free: Spaghetti with Attanasio, Strapontin with Berck, Prudence Petitpas with Maréchal, Modeste et Pompon with Franquin, and more.

On 5 November 1977, he died suddenly at the age of 51. His immense talent meant that his characters, like Asterix, Lucky Luke, Iznogoud and Petit Nicolas lived on after his death.

 

 

Albert Uderzo

He was born on 25 April 1927 to Italian parents.

From ten years old, his ambition was to work in the cartoon business, and he began sketching characters featuring big noses: Stupido.

In 1945, he won his first contract as an illustrator at the publishing house Editions Du Chêne. During this time, he gained vast experience creating new heroes such as Flamberge, Clopinard, Zartan, Zidore and Belloy l’Invulnerable.

These characters were the first in a long line of muscular, 'pumped up' heroes of which Albert was particularly fond.

In 1947, he became a reporter and illustrator for the newspaper France Dimanche and worked for two small press agencies, World Press and International Press, where he met Jean-Michel Charlier and Victor Hubinon, who would become two of the biggest names in comic books.

 

Their creations

In 1951, Albert Uderzo learnt that a new contributor was coming, René Goscinny. This was the beginning of an exceptional friendship in every way. Their first collaboration in 1951 marked the birth of Oompah-Pah, Jehan Pistolet and Luc Junior.

In 1956, René Goscinny was actively involved with Albert Uderzo, Jean-Michel Charlier and Jean Hébrard in creating the press agency Edipresse and the advertising agency Edifrance, that finally gave them the opportunity to express themselves with an entirely free rein.

Albert Uderzo produced up to nine strips a week.

In 1959 they created Pilote, a major weekly newspaper aimed at a young audience. It was an immediate success, all 300,000 copies printed sold out on the first day. The first edition of Pilote presented the first strip illustrating the adventures of Asterix the Gaul.

1967: Astérix & the Normans draws in 1 billion of album sales.

 


1974: They create Studio Idefix, producing The Twelve Tasks of Asterix for the cinema as well as many more cartoons.

1977: The tragic news of René Goscinny's death came on 5 November 1977. He was 51. His immense talent meant that his characters live on after his death.

René Goscinny collaborated on several other comic strips: 1961’s Iznogoud (Tabary), 1956’s Le Petit Nicolas (Sempé), 1955’s Lucky Luke (Morris), 1961’s Valentin (Tabary), 1965’s Les Dingodossiers (Gotlib), etc.

1979: Albert Uderzo continues to work alone on the adventures of the heroic Gaul, creating the publishing house, Éditions Albert René. Armed with 26 years of experience of working with René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo writes and illustrates new comic books.

2011: Hachette Livre takes over Éditions Albert René. After more than 70 years of drawing, Albert Uderzo decides to put down his pencils, saying “I need a bit of a rest.”But fascinated by drawing, he continues to enthusiastically work on his characters and collaborates closely with two new authors on the 35th and 36th albums!

Les créateurs
d'Astérix

René Goscinny

Né le 14 août 1926 à Paris, il est d’origine polonaise par son père et ukrainienne par sa mère.

Il passe son enfance en Argentine, il y découvre très tôt la littérature, puis la bande dessinée.

En 1945, il devient assistant dessinateur dans une agence de publicité en France, puis part pour New-York.

Après son service militaire dans l'armée française, il retourne outre-Atlantique, où il rencontre l'équipe (Harvey Kurtzman, Will Elder et John Severin) de la revue humoristique MAD, avec laquelle il travaillera en tant que dessinateur. C'est aussi là-bas qu'il rencontrera Morris avec lequel il travaillera sur Lucky Luke à partir de 1955.

En 1950 : René débarque à Bruxelles et travaille avec Jean-Michel Charlier pour la World Press, il dessine et réalise cette année là sa 1ère BD : Dick Dicks.
Les années 50 seront riches de rencontres avec différents dessinateurs avec qui il pourra laisser aller son génie : Spaghetti pour Attanasio, Strapontin pour Berck, Prudence Petitpas pour Maréchal, Modeste et Pompon pour Franquin etc.

5 novembre 1977, René Goscinny décède brusquement, sa famille, ses amis sont terrassés de douleur. Son talent est immense, le souvenir est intact et ses personnages vivent encore, inaltérables : Astérix, Lucky Luke, Iznogoud, Le Petit Nicolas...

 

Albert Uderzo

Né le 25 avril 1927 de parents italiens.

Dès l'âge de dix ans il se rêve travaillant dans l'industrie du dessin animé et commence, à crayonner des personnages à gros nez: Stupido.

En 1945 il obtient son 1er contrat de dessinateur aux Editions Du Chêne. A partir de là, il multipliera les expériences, créera de nouveaux héros comme Flamberge, Clopinard, Zartan, Zidore, ou Belloy l'Invulnérable.
Ces derniers inaugurent une longue série de héros musclés, "gonflés à l'hélium", qu'Albert affectionne particulièrement.

En 1947, il devient reporter dessinateur à France Dimanche et travaille pour deux agences de presse, nommées World Press et International Press, où il rencontre Jean-Michel Charlier (Tanguy et Laverdure) et Victor Hubinon, entre autres futurs grands noms de la bande dessinée.

 

Leurs créations

En 1951, on annonce a Albert Uderzo la venue d'un nouveau, nommé René Goscinny. C'est la naissance d'une amitié exceptionnelle. Leur rencontre marquera leur 1ères collaborations. Ce sera la naissance d'Oumpah-Pah, Jehan Pistolet, Luc Junior.

1956 : Ensemble avec Jean-Michel Charlier et Jean Hébrard, ils créent les sociétés Edipresse (agence de presse) et Edifrance (agence de publicité), qui leur donneront l'occasion d'exprimer leurs envies et de développer tous leurs talents au service de la bande dessinée.

Albert produira jusqu'à 9 planches par semaine.

1959 : les associés créent le journal Pilote, grand hebdomadaire à destination de la jeunesse. Le journal connait un succès immédiat : les 300 000 exemplaires imprimés sont vendus dès le premier jour. Y apparaissent les premieres planches d'Astérix le Gaulois.

1967 : Astérix et les Normands est tiré a 1 million d'exemplaires.

 


1974 : ils creent le Studio Idéfix et produisent Les 12 travaux d'Astérix pour le cinéma ainsi que d'autres dessins animés.

1977 : La nouvelle tragique de la mort de René Goscinny tombe le 5 Novembre 1977. Il avait 51 ans. Son immense talent fait que ses héros lui survivront.

René Goscinny a collaboré à de nombreux albums comme : 1961 Iznogoud (Tabary), 1956 Le Petit Nicolas (Sempé), 1955 Lucky Luke (Morris), 1961 Valentin (Tabary), 1965 Les Dingodossiers (Gotlib), etc.

1979 : Albert Uderzo continue à travailler seul sur les aventures de leur héros gaulois et crée Les Editions Albert René. Armé de 26 ans de collaboration avec René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo dessine et écrit de nouveaux albums.

2011 : Hachette Livre devient propriétaire des Editions Albert René. Albert Uderzo après plus de 70 ans de dessins décide de poser les crayons: « Lui aussi a besoin d’un peu de repos » déclare-t-il. Mais passionné par le dessin dont il a fait son métier, il continue de travailler sur ses personnages avec enthousiasme et collabore étroitement avec les deux nouveaux auteurs sur le 35ème et le 36ème album !